The blog of Raymund Narag

This is an article I wrote a few days upon my release from Quezon City Jail.  I was reflecting on the state of affairs of the fraternity system in the Philippines.  I was hoping that other frat members will learn from the experience that I had.

Introduction

So many young promising men had been put to waste. So many dreams had been shattered. So many families had been broken.

The fraternity system has become a big black hole that sucks these young promising men to their graves. The fraternity as an institution, despite its noble and lofty ideals, has degenerated into becoming a barbaric gang. Internally, its organizational structure has become so hierarchically feudal, with the head becoming the law and the members losing their individuality. Externally, it has imbibed the culture of the tribesmen and treats other tribes as an unforgivable “enemy”.

With the barbaric culture of the fraternities…

View original post 57 more words

