this man's journey

Revisiting Capiz, Then And Now

I hardly recognize the coastal town I grew up with after being away for 10 years. What used to be a wide stretch of vacant beach lots now stands houses and restaurants that blocks the view of the beautiful beach that gave me so much wonderful memories.

I remember riding the tricycle with my classmates still in our school uniform heading towards the beach after our Friday class session. We would simply take off our shirts and jump into the water wearing our school pants. It was fun and exciting. Life was simpler.

The day I arrived after almost 2 days of flight from Houston, Texas to the Philippines, I asked my dad to bring me to the beach with my wife and son. We drove from end to end, covering pretty much the entire beach which locals fondly called as…

View original post 1,175 more words

