Bikes are usually treated as toys for the big boys.

But for 32-year old Doctor Vicky Uy-Hofileña, a cool and lovely mom to a 3-year old kid – there’s no stopping riding the time of her life – hurdling terrains and falling – but still getting up.

“I’m just a rookie (for now). I got my bike in 2010. My husband, Alfred Hofileña, is a motorcycle enthusiast. He has been riding motorcycles since he was 4 years old. Motorcycles are his passion and it’s just infectious,” Vicky notes.

“I wanted to learn how to ride a motorcycle so that I’d understand. We were going to get a scooter but he wouldn’t let me ride street, so we decided on a dirt bike.

We got this sweet 2008 Suzuki RM 85L from a guy named Brian Pine from Dumaguete. I named my bike “Yuki.” I learned to ride and I’m still learning the sport,” she adds.

A Little Bit of Courage

“I fall and eat dirt but I can do some tricks. I can do the tiny jumps now. And every time I get it without falling (laughs), I’d want to do it over and over.

I have yet to enter a race but I will at one point, I hope. I don’t have to win. I just need a little bit more courage to actually join a race,” Vicky enthuses.

Riding the Waters Too

When they were in college, Alfred’s family had a boat and one of his brothers, Mike, brought home a wake board.  They would go to Guimaras during weekends to wakeboard.

“At first I was hesitant but then I figured, the worse that could happen is that you fall into water and it wouldn’t really hurt. But it actually hurt as much as falling on dirt – but it’s fun – really fun,” Vicky likens wakeboarding and riding.

She also took kite boarding lessons in Boracay. “I have the kiteboarder card and the gear but I don’t have the time, sayang. Kiteboarding is a really cool sport. I also do scuba.”

Amazing Sight

“There is a community of Motocross riders in Iloilo and the sport itself is growing. There’s this little guy, Christian, 9-year old and he can jump as high as the older guys and it’s amazing to watch him!” Vicky avers.

Family’s Playground

Just recently, the group fixed the old motocross track near Plazuela in Mandurriao district and every Sunday there’s a crowd that practice there. “It’s like a playground. Everybody knows everybody and it almost feels like a family,” she adds.

There are a number of Motocross tracks in Iloilo in Sta. Barbara, Leon, Maasin, and Ajuy. The race is usually sponsored by the towns during fiestas.

“There are several categories like mopeds, enduro, beginner, novice and pro open. Each category has a series of qualifying runs and a final run with corresponding number of laps for each category. Points are then earned wherein the race officials base the winners,” Vicky explains.

A Thrilling Ride

“As a rookie, every trick I learn is thrilling. And it leaves me wanting to do more.   Plus I get to spend time with my husband and seeing him enjoy the sport is priceless. It’s also a sort of my stress buster,” she affirms.

Family Time

“I’m a 2nd year Anesthesiology Resident and I don’t have the luxury of my own time. I have to be in the hospital everyday including weekends and holidays. When I get home, I very seldom get to read or study. My time at home is family time,” Vicky says of her active lifestyle.

Best Wife and Mom

“At home, I’m a mom, I take care of Alfred and Summer, do groceries, do a little cooking. Breastfeeding is one of the pure joys of motherhood. And I’m proud to say that Summer was exclusively breastfed for over a year.

And if I have some extra time, I like crochet and sew. I would make little dresses for my baby girl too. It’s rare to get a weekend off. But when I do, I usually have it planned out,” she adds.

Good Doctor

“I guess time management is the key. It is possible to create balance within your family’s everyday life. One more important factor is prayer. I pray to God to help me be the best wife and mom, a good doctor, and a better person as a whole,” says Vicky.

“My husband is sporting a 2006 Kawasaki KX250F. He is my coach and pit crew – we’d practice together. He makes sure that my bike is in good shape and I have the proper gear,” she says.

“When I got Yuki, the whole family was actually very excited. One time, we went on a trail ride in Guimbal with my brother-in-law Charlie and his group. We had to go across a stream and over muddy trails and terrain – that was a little too much for me though,” Vicky quips.

Hot Coolness

“Motocross is intimidating. And it’s a bit unusual for a girl to be involved in it. But it’s 2011 and there’s no telling what a girl can or cannot do, right? Women who ride motorcycles radiate confidence and that kind of confidence is always hot,” she asserts.

Dream and Live Life

Vicky wants to live by the words of Mark Twain: “Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines, sail away from the safe harbor, catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.”

“If you want to sing or dance or play football or baseball or basketball or boxing or motocross – just do it – don’t hesitate. And start while you’re still young. I promise myself that before I turn 35, I will learn how to snow board.

And my ultimate dream is to learn how to sail my own boat. Nothing is impossible right? And there’s no harm in dreaming. And I hope that when I’m older, I’d look back and I can proudly say that I have lived my life,” Vicky avows.

(This story first appeared in Mezzo Magazine March-April 2011)

Photo credits: Alfredo Agustin Hofileña FB account

